Youtube Facebook Twitter Rss Feed

6th District Congress: 1,259 absentee ballots remain outstanding in deadlocked race

Kyle Maichle August 14, 2014 2
6th District Congress: 1,259 absentee ballots remain outstanding in deadlocked race

FOND DU LAC – 1,259 absentee ballots remain outstanding according to election officials in the 6th Congressional District.

Wisconsin Election Watch obtained outstanding absentee ballot data from clerks via their website or on the telephone on Thursday.    The Sheboygan Press initially reported on Wednesday that there 1,500 absentee ballots outstanding.   The following is an actual count of the outstanding absentee ballots:

County Number of Outstanding Absentee Ballots
Columbia 68
Dodge 76
Fond du Lac 113
Green Lake 17
Manitowoc 82
Marquette 8
Milwaukee 15
Ozaukee 397
Sheboygan 205
Waushara 10
Winnebago 268

 Sources: County Clerks in Columbia, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Green Lake, Manitowoc, Marquette, Ozaukee, Sheboygan, and Winnebago Counties.  Bayside and River Hills Village Clerks

More: AP Undeclares Grothman the Winner in WI-6 After Initial Declaration

As of Thursday, Glenn Grothman still holds onto a slim lead against Joe Leibham.   A large majority of the absentee ballots are in the more-populated counties of Fond du Lac, Ozaukee, Sheboygan, and Winnebago which account for over 78 percent of the total absentee ballots outstanding.   On Election Night, Leibham won Sheboygan County while Grothman carried Ozaukee, Winnebago, and Fond du Lac counties.

County canvassing boards will meet next week to determine the final results of this closely contested race for the Republican nomination in the 6th Congressional District.   After the canvassing boards make their final decision, it is up to the losing campaigns to request a recount.   Because the margin of victory is less than half of one percent, the State of Wisconsin will pay for all the costs associated with the recount.

  • batlcrewzer

    It would be nice to know if this was a demo or a repub race.

    • Mary Struck

      Both candidates are far right Republicans.