Youtube Facebook Twitter Rss Feed

Milwaukee County

Kyle Maichle July 15, 2013 5
Milwaukee County
Milwaukee County Logo

The Seal of Milwaukee County

Milwaukee County is the state’s largest county in terms of population.  According to the Wisconsin Department of Administration, the estimated population of Milwaukee County for 2013 stands at 950,410 people. This represents a 0.3% increase from the 2010 Census. The County Seat is the city of Milwaukee.


The following are municipalities in Milwaukee County. Population listed in parenthesis is based off of 2013 estimates from the Wisconsin Department of Administration.

  • Cudahy (18,227)
  • Franklin (35,810)
  • Glendale (12,845)
  • Greenfield (36,770)
  • Oak Creek (34,695)
  • St. Francis (9,462)
  • South Milwaukee (21,127)
  • Wauwatosa (46,705)
  • West Allis (60,300)
Milwaukee County War Memorial in Downtown Milwaukee

Milwaukee County War Memorial in Downtown Milwaukee


  • Brown Deer (12,086)
  • Fox Point (6,630)
  • Greendale (14,165)
  • Hales Corner (7,691)
  • River Hills (1,587)
  • Shorewood (13,189)
  • West Milwaukee (4,205)
  • Whitefish Bay (14,126)

Key Employers

AT&T Building in Downtown Milwaukee.

AT&T Building in Downtown Milwaukee.

Key employers that are based in Milwaukee County are:

Elected Officials

The following are elected officials serving Milwaukee County Government at the Countywide level.

Position Name Party Affiliation
County Executive Chris Abele Democratic
District Attorney John Chisolm Democratic
Sheriff David A. Clarke Democratic
County Clerk Joseph Czarnecki Democratic
Treasurer Daniel J. Diliberti Democratic
Register of Deeds John LaFave Democratic


County Government

Milwaukee County is one of thirteen counties to use an elected County Executive to lead the day to day operations of county government.  The County Executive is elected to a four-year term.

The Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors is the Legislative branch of county government.  18 people currently serve on the board and are elected to four year terms.

Source: 2011-2012 Wisconsin Blue Book, About the Milwaukee County Board 

External Links